Gymnastics is one of the traditional sports at the modern Games and has been included on the Olympic programme since the inaugural edition at Athens in 1896.

Regulated by the International Federation of Gymnastics (IFG), it’s divided into six disciplines, although only three of these are part of the Olympic programme: artistic, rhythmic, and trampoline.

In the third summer edition of the Youth Olympic Games, gymnastics will be comprised of the artistic, trampoline and acrobatic disciplines. In rhythmic, 36 women will compete.

156 Athletes (96 women and 60 men)

Women / Men / All-Around and Individual by Discipline/ Multidiscipline Team Event



Multidiscipline Team Event • Gymnasts from all disciplines will be drawn into 12 teams of 13 gymnasts. The gymnasts will compete as a multinational and multidiscipline team. • Each team will be comprised in the following way: in acrobatic, one pair; in artistic, three men and three women; in rhythmic, three women; in trampoline, one man and one woman. • There will be a qualification phase for each discipline. Results are calculated by adding the rank obtained by each gymnast/pair within their discipline. The winner will be the team with the lowest total score ("highest ranks").


All-Around Disciplines (Individual and Team) • In artistic gymnastics men and women compete separately. Men compete on six apparatus: floor exercise, pommel horse, rings, vault, parallel bars, horizontal bars. Women compete on four apparatus: pommel horse, uneven bars, balance beam and floor exercise. There will be individual finals (the best eight in the qualification phase will participate in the final) and all around (the best 18 teams in each area will participate in the final). • In trampoline, athletes complete acrobatic jumps in the air. They will compete individually, 12 men and 12 women. The best eight in the qualification phase will participate in the medals final. • In acrobatic, three exercises are performed: balance, dynamic and combined. Twelve mixed pairs will compete and the best eight will participate in the medals final.

<< back